A virus caused my diabetes ?!?!?

Ever since I was diagnosed I’ve been told the cause of Type 1 Diabetes is unfortunately unknown and therefore is unpreventable and incurable.

Today I have received news of a study that may change this. According to the study, there is a significant link between type 1 diabetes, and a virus infection. Diabetes UK reported that “researchers from the University of New South Wales, Australia, reviewed 26 previous studies examining enterovirus infection and Type 1 diabetes, involving a total of 4,448 people. Enteroviruses belong to a common family of viruses, which usually cause the common cold or diarrhoea.”

The researches concluded that “there is a clinically significant association between enterovirus infection, detected with molecular methods, and autoimmunity/type 1 diabetes. Larger prospective studies would be needed to establish a clear temporal relation between enterovirus infection and the development of autoimmunity and type 1 diabetes.”

A link to the original research paper can be found here

2 Responses to A virus caused my diabetes ?!?!?

  1. Robert says:

    It happened to me. I had a bad case of stomach flu that had me going to the bathroom night and day for about six weeks. I had had to have three work physicals in the previous six months that found no hint of blood sugar irregularities, and then I went blind and almost died from type 1 diabetes–about a week after I got over the virus. I did get my sight back, but not my beta cells.

  2. Nicolas says:

    I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes one year ago. It happened just after I had a really bad flu. Interesting that both events might be linked.

Leave a Reply

